CASA CORKSCOT

After listening to days of news of the potential of Hurricane Matthew, we can say that it is finally over and very overrated for South Florida. The light went out for approximately 1 minute at 6PM and that was the end of our power outage. The winds today were far worse than anything yesterday.

It was not an easy night for Sidney. He is most affected by the change in atomspheric pressure of all of the dogs. He was terrified of going out last night. It was not raining, but he sensed something. Shelby refused to spend any time outside last night. I gave up when it became apparent that I was wasting my time.

Luckily I had gotten impact windows last year. I only had to shutter the sliders on the patio. I also braced the garage door.

I hope that everyone had an easy time of this weather event. 013008

11 thoughts on “CASA CORKSCOT

    1. corkscot Post author

      Thanks. it was much easier than i expected. The impact windows muffled a lot of the noise. It was easier for Sid than normal. Go figure!

      Reply
  1. Amy

    I am so relieved hearing that the weather wasn’t terrible as predicted. I’ve been very concerned about our blogging friends in southern FL and along the coast. Love the pic of them on the rug. And what happens when one or more refuse to go out? Do they hold it?

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      Shelby held it until the morning. I was standing outside saying”JUST PEE!”. iT DIDN’T DO ANY GOOD. When she had the surgery, she was refusing to do anything on most walks. She never had an accident. Sophie peed as soon as I opened the door. Sid was not happy,but he went quickly.

      Reply
  2. Skyler Braveheart

    Glad you were spared. North Carolina, where we live, costal and Eastern, are very hard hit. Many rivers have not finished cresting. Much misery and clean up. Roads opening up to reveal huge chasms. We were very fortunate. One day of torrential rain and a two hour power failure, sadly in the middle of the Tennessee / Texas A & M game, putting Mama in a very dark mood. NOTE: Mama is very vocal during most football and basketball games. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. But we enjoyed the quiet of the dark, and realized Mama had no control over anything except lighting candles and getting me out to tinkle. Sunday was a day for the books, Sunny and mild, great for my porch sitting and Mama to pick up tree limbs.

    Reply
  3. corkscot Post author

    Your mama and I have a lot in common. My Scotties don’t want anything to do with me during a football game. It is dangerous. My college did not have a football team, but I am an avid New York Giants and Jets fan. We hope that your life is back together. These hurricanes can be so disastrous,. We were lucky this time.Our governor had us all dying.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

