SURGERY

Shelby had her surgery yesterday. She had to have a repair for her torn ligament and they also found that the meniscus was torn. This is the first time that she has not been home with me for the night. Sidney and Sophie spent a good part of yesterday sitting in Shelby’s favorite place. It was so sad to see them looking for her.

I picked her up this afternoon and she looked so sad. She has a cast on her leg and will have to keep it on for a week. After that, she will have it removed and a week later the stitches will be removed. She will need three months to recover the total use of her leg. She will have to remain quiet and not use it for running and jumping. This is going to be a challenge. The cast will have to stay dry. This is almost an impossibility in Florida. The ground is wet almost every night and early morning. I’m keeping my hopes up for a successful recovery. Shelby and her cone of shame that must remain on for the next two weeks.016017015

20 thoughts on “SURGERY

  1. Amy

    This is hard on all of you. I hope Shelby is not in pain, and you are able to keep her quiet and her leg dry. Hmm, may be time for some medical mary jane!

    Reply
  2. corkscot Post author

    For me or for Shelby? She doesn’t take pills easily. Would you believe that the surgery center asked me to bring meds with me and then charged me for them to administer them to her at $5 a pop?

    Reply
  3. Kaci

    Not to worry, Shelby. My cousin, the American Bulldog, is only six and has had the same surgery on both knees!!!! He is fine now and running around better than ever. Just take your meds and mind your mom. I send you sloppy kisses to get well soon.

    Reply
  4. Nessa Noodledog

    Try wrapping her cast with Saran Wrap or glad cling wrap. That will keep it dryer, and is sort of easy to do. Mom did that when the husky dog had a soft cast
    Nessa Noodledog

    Reply
  5. bentley2

    I hope you and Shelby and the family are improving since the surgery. I thought I posted before but I must have hit the wrong keys. I have been sending prayers for healing and hugs.
    Bentley

    Reply
  6. Skyler Braveheart

    Poor sweetie! Vet Ned’s and procedures are getting out of hand, price wise. I just paid $67 for the AdvanTix tabs. Criminal. Hope you can keep her down to a dull roar. Challenging for both of you.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      When I buy flea meds for the dogs, I buy the 120 lb size and divide it up for the three of them. You can’t do it with Heartgard, but with Frontline and Confortis it is possible. They don’t want you to know about this.

      Reply
  7. rubytheairedale

    OMD, I can’t believes Imissed this postie!!!!! Bad Ma….anyhu, oh gurl, you look so sad, I’m sorry your leggie is so bad. I don’t knows how to keep a terrier quiet for that long! We are a lively bunch, so I am sendin’ you all the AireZens I can muster to gets through this tough time.
    Okays, here’s a tip Ma learned from when her Angel Annie had to keep her paw dry for 6 months ~ use Glad Press n’ Seal. It is sticks to itself, and it is easy on and easy off…it was a life saver!!! Ma used two layers for extra strength.
    Sendin’ tons of POTP and healin’ vibes!!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    Reply

Leave a Reply

