THE HARVEST

Since moving to Florida in 1983, I have developed quite the green thumb. Usually my mango crop is very prolific. I have many trees on the property. only one was bought from a garden  store. The other mango trees came from pits of fallen mangoes. This year the crop was not as large as usual.  They are extremely tasty and the dogs love them . They will dance for mangoes.

The avocado tree was also from a pit. If I would have known that it would grow, I wouldn’t have thrown it into the front yard. It is next to the drive way and people feel that it is there for them to help themselves. I gladly share as the tree id full of avocados. I just don’t want people destroying the tree to get them.

The pineapple is another free fruit. If you take the top off and plant it, you can get a pineapple for every top. This is not a cash crop. The 4 inch pineapple took 3 years to grow. By the time I cut the top of it, there is a very small serving left.

The carambola (starfruit) is the only one that was on the tree. It is very disappointing to just get one fruit. I have a neighbor down on the next block that has a loaded tree. He never takes care of the property, but the tree is fully fruited. Go figure.

I didn’t take pictures of the macadamia nuts. They are impossible to open with a mallet, but the squirrels and birds seem to have no problem.

I’m hoping that the crops will be larger next year.

.

011

10 thoughts on “THE HARVEST

    1. corkscot Post author

      Take a pit and throw it into the ground. I never thought that it would grow. The tree is huge. I have started some others in the property next door to the house. A whole bunch of the fallen mangoes have sprouted and are growing in the lot. I’m planning on giving them to my neighbors.

      Reply
  1. lexitheschnauzer

    That is so cool. Mom of the black thumb potted a tomato plant someone gave her and harvested her 1st tomato yesterday. She took a picture of it too. Our ground is too pebbly to grow anything in it.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      Florida soil is mostly sand. Our grass would be considered weeds up north. There is always potting soil. The avocado loved the coffee grinds that I give it every day.

      Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      The mangoes have been very delicious this year. I pass extras out to all my neighbors. There is only so much room in the refrigerator and freezer. They all get ripe at the same time.

      Reply
  2. Skyler Braveheart

    Oooooh! Mama would love a Avacado tree….we aren’t in the right zone. Our newborn planted three fig trees between our houses, and Mama is allowed to pick figs, her idea of an extra special luxury being fresh figs. Your yard sounds quite delicious !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

