WHAT’S IN A NAME???

Sophie has been residing in this house since Oct. 12. 2014. I had asked the breeder to call her by her name from the time of her birth.  She is almost 1.5 years old. One would think that she would acknowledge her name by this time.

Thanks to a wonderful friend, Trisha Jones, she has received so many things that belonged to her wonderful Scottie Sophie. She is set for life with numerous collars, several bandannas, and now a pillow. Unfortunately, Sophie cannot read. Here’s hoping that she will one day respond to her name. In the meantime, she has all of these great gifts.

Scottie people are so generous.019

18 thoughts on “WHAT’S IN A NAME???

  1. jaspersdoggyworld

    When I was a cute and adorable puppy, I liked to chew anything I could get my teeth on to. This might have included, potplants, sister’s homework, chairs, coffee table, shoses, gumboots etc. For some reason, I really thought my name was “Jasper, you little s**t”.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      She is mostly called Sophie. She does have some nicknames. Schmutzifier is one of them. She is constantly eating things that she should not eat. Shmutz basically means dirt.

      Reply
  2. noodle4president

    Mom is ALWAYS getting mad at Macy because Macy can hear a pin drop with those big ol’ satellite ears. Yet, Mom call’s Macy’s name and nothing. She stares off into space like the hamster fell of the wheel. I hope Sophie decides to like her name one day. It’s beautiful. *ear licks* Noodle

    Reply
  3. Skyler Braveheart

    If she is not focused, Mama has been known to call me Noah. Or sometimes JoshNoah, or Noah/Josh. And once in a blue moon, Noah/Josh/OMD, Skylersoverysorry. About a year ago, I started acknowledging her when she called my name. She is very proud of me. Sophie will amaze you one day. Don’t give up hope.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      We are blessed and Abby is blessed to be rescued by you. Shelby is also a rescue. She came with her name and we did not change it. Otherwise, she would have been Sophie.

      Reply
  4. Kismet

    You know, it could be that shaming her would work. Do you think that if you posted a photo to the world on this site with Sophie and a sign that says “I’m the only stupid Scottie in the world-I don’t even know my name” would work. Nah, you’re right, I don’t think that would work either.

    Reply
  5. rubytheairedale

    OMD, those are FABulous gifts!!! I wish I had an extra collar with my name on it!!! (Ma’s a little chincy with the collars…) Sometimes I don’t listen when my name is called either, butts Ma usually uses ‘nicknames’ furst like ‘baby gurl’, ‘shorty’, ‘little sh*t’, etc, so when I hears my REAL name, I knows she mean business, so I better gets my arse to her or no margaritas for me! BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    Reply
  6. lexitheschnauzer

    All those personalized accessories…I guess changing her name is not an option. I bet if you refused to feed her until she answered to her name, she would recognize it in a big fat hurry. (That’s my Mom talking.) Or maybe if she got a treat every time you said her name. (Hey, Sophie, I’m trying here, ya’ gotta help!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

