REMEMBERING WILMA- OCTOBER 24 2005

The morning of October 24 2005 was a time that I will never forget. We were expecting a hurricane and it struck right after I walked the dogs in the morning. It was the front end of the storm and little did we understand what we were in for in a little while. It was calm for a while and the dogs, Corky, Drew, Tiffany Sue, and Tory wandered around the house. Within a few minutes, all hell broke loose. The windows began to rattle, the front door was trying to open, and the cage around the pool was vibrating. The sliding glass door on to the patio were bowing in to the room. Drew and Tiffany heade3d to the interior closet. Corky and Tory were not upset by the constant motion that was going on in the house. As I looked out the sliding glass door to the pool, the cage surrounding the pool began to sink into the pool. The sound of the wind was ear shattering. Within a short time, it was quiet.. The destruction was enormous. This was the third hurricane within 14 months. All together the damage was mind boggling. The front door was not able to close completely, the side garage door was totally broken, the garage door was pushed in and it couldn’t be opened, the roof was missing many shingles and would have to be replace, the drywall ceilings in the garage and the patio had come down, trees were uprooted, and the pool was a total disaster. The entire cage had sunk into the pool.
The electricity was out for 8 days. All of the food would spoil, the refrigerator would leak all over the floor, the car was struck in the garage(undamaged), and everything came to a standstill for many people.
Insurance was a joke. They know how to take your money, but don’t expect to be paid for most of your losses. The cost to replace the cage of the pool and patio was $28,000, but insurance would only provide $7000 for the repair. With so many people being hurt by the disaster, it took forever to get repairs done. Living without electricity is not easy. Our only lucky thing was that the weather finally cooled off the next day and it wasn’t oppressive.
The pictures that I took are still in the camera. I don’t think that I will never be able to see them and have never finished the role of film. The insurance company came the next day and took their own pictures. I was on the phone with them as the cage disappeared. I was not going to wait in a queue for help. I think that I might have made the first call into the company that morning.
Hopefully that will be the last hurricane that we experience. I now have hurricane shutters and I had hurricane proof windows installed this year.

14 thoughts on “REMEMBERING WILMA- OCTOBER 24 2005

    1. corkscot Post author

      It was beyond frightening. The front door opened in and it was very hard to keep it closed. The door now opens out. It had to put furniture in front of the door and try to keep Tory and Corky out of harms way.

      Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      It was an experience that I would not like top replicate. Three hurricanes in a short period of time was way to much for one person to handle.Eight days without coffee was even harder.

      Reply
  1. Glenna Jones

    Wow, I remember. .can’t believe its been 10 years ago. It was as awful as you wrote. Hope we never experience that again.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      It seems like yesterday.There are constant reminders everywhere. I cleared out theflower bed between the garage and the front door and found shingles today.

      Reply
  2. corkscot Post author

    We are about 13 miles away from the Atlantic Ocean and many miles away from Lake Okeechobee. The roadways flooded from all the vegetation blocking the sewer grates.

    Reply
  3. noodle4president

    I remember it well. I was in Sunrise with my Dad and our sliding glass doors were bowing, the front door was being sucked open (only to be stopped by the lock), and the wind was terrifying. Hurricane Wilma was the start of my relationship with Greg. He called me during the storm to see how we were faring. Mid-way through the conversation he said, “I have to go, something just blew off of my house.” Shortly thereafter, the phone lines went down. I was losing my mind with worry that he was hurt. The next morning at 7:15 there was a knock on the door. He braved the streets from Boca to Sunrise to see if we were okay. That was the day we became a couple.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      What a great story. At least something good came out of all of the chaos. I was cleaning out a cactus bed this weekend and I found remnants of my roof shingles in the flower bed. I guess that it was fitting on the anniversary to find these pieces. I did not change the clock that weekend becasue we had no electricity and the thought of being in the pitch dark from 6PM was too much for me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

