RECONNECTING WITH YOUR CHILDHOOD

I have written about some of the classes that are available in our local library. Last week, the offering was an class in adult coloring. It was not so much a class, as an opportunity to enjoy a morning doing something that we all did as children- COLOR. Adult coloring books are the latest thing in the publishing world and I can understand. There was an article in the Sunday paper about this phenomenon. We were presented with postcard size pictures of owls and all kinds of markers. There was meditative music playing in the background. I sat for over an hour and a half and colored in the pictures. It was the most restful that I have been in ages.
I took one of the postcards home and attempted to replicate the experience in my house. Three dogs sort of killed the relaxing part of the experience. I wound up standing in the kitchen and trying to work on my owl. The fine lines do not translate well yo being run into by the dogs, but it was better than trying to do it sitting down. This is going to be a night time activity when Sophie is snuggled away for the night. The older two respect my space when she is out of the picture.
The library is planning on having more classes or opportunities to color through out the year. I have told them to mark me down for all of the classes.For some reason, i was unable to insert the pictures into the blog. If I can figure out a way, i plan to do it later.

12 thoughts on “RECONNECTING WITH YOUR CHILDHOOD

  1. Lee

    We have two libraries close to us and being that Sweet William is a reader dog, during the summer Lee reads while Wills just lays around. Years ago it was just for children but since the Harry Potter book series we now read to anyone who wants to come. Amazingly we have a lot of adults who like having a book read to them. Hence we have a lot of grandparents with their little grandchildren or some who just find I relaxing listening to a story be read.
    Sweet William The Scot

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      I find myself listening to audiobooks on a daily basis. The local branch gets almost everything in audio. I take my nano with me as I walk.I can spend up up three hours a day walking. I’m plugged in almost all day long. I go through five books a week. That is reconnecting too.

      Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      You can join me on Facebook at Susan Lieberman Czako Weinstein or wordpress finally allowed me to send the pictures later in the evening.

      Reply
  2. Skyler Braveheart

    That sounds really wonderful. If Mama sat down to color, I would want to sit on her lap. I suspect The Mater would enjoy that class. She reads a lot of books too. She could be using that time to pay attention to me. Pfffffft !

    Reply
  3. wallaceandsamuel

    Our mom and Oumie are BIG colouring in fans! Mom bought herself and Oumie each an “adult colouring in book” at the beginning of the year and often on a Saturday afternoon we will sit with mom while she colours in and listens to music.
    Wally & Sammy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

