Throwback Thursday

corky weinstein 001
This is Corky. She was the first Florida Scottie and the namesake of Corkscot. I was reading the legal notices in the newspaper after my husband had died and I saw an ad that said Found Scottish Terrier. Please don’t let me wander around without a home. She was found by a lady that already had a dog. She was afraid that the two females would not get along and placed the ad. She was hoping to find the owner. I called and told the lady that I would be interested in having her if the owner was not found. This was in Dec. of 1992. The nights can get cold and she was keeping the Scottie outside. She called later that night and told me to come pick up the dog the next day. I offered t pay her for her trouble, but she only wanted her to have a good home. I picked up Corky the next morning and took her to the vet. She had all kinds of problems. Her ears were infected, she had urinary tract disease, all kinds of worms,and heartworm. My free dog cost me over $1000 the first week that I had her. She needed treatment for the heartworm and many medications. She spent three days at the vet getting the heartworm treatment. She was finally able to come home.
Corky was the best dog. She had a wonderful personality and loved all people and animals. The vet thought that she was 2 when I got her. She lived until 2006 and was a great companion for 14.5 years. She had a stroke at age 9 and developed Cushing’s disease at 9.5. It never stopped her from living a full life.

22 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday

    1. corkscot Post author

      I had a request for a throwback story. That is why I wrote this piece. The one next week will be about the first Corky. Thank you!

      Reply
  1. Kismet

    We’ve been through that one. Between Kyla’s Addison’s Disease, pancreatitis, and melanoma, you got off cheap. Kyla was very worth it-what a Scottie.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      The Cushing’s medicine was 375 for 100 pills. That was one a day. She was worth every penny of it. We are not even counting the urinary acidifier, heartgard, flea medicine, Sam-E, milk thistle, and all of the others.

      Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      She was the best thing of all. The kids were not at home and it was very lonely. She gave me something to look forward to each day and a reason to get out of bed.

      Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      Thank you so much. We saved each other. It was difficult being alone after my husband died. My daughter was away at college and my son was busy traveling long distances to a job that never seemed to have an end of the day.

      Reply
  2. glutenfreezen

    What a beautiful pup. And how wonderful that you were able to save her! We saw one in the pet food store the other day that was SO FAT I could not believe it. I thought of you and figured you would be as appalled as I was! LOL

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      I”m sure that they would have said that the dog was big boned. My Scotties have ranged from 18- 24 lbs. My friend had one that was 34 lbs and he was solid. You always wonder if the people ever looked for her or did they dump her because of her medical problems.

      Reply
      1. glutenfreezen

        Yes, that is what he said to the checker! LOL I’d never seen one that “solid”. Easily 34 pounds, a robust little thing. The thought of people dumping dogs just kills me.

Leave a Reply

