Am I A Helicopter Mom?

I used that term in a response to one of the blogs. Helicopter parents hover over their children. I confess to being overprotective of the four legged children. I physically walking them on leashes several times a day. The never go out side without my protection. Before the hurricanes took down the screen enclosure around the pool, the previous Scotties never went out on the patio by themselves. There was no screening between the patio and the pool. With the destruction of hurricanes, Frances, Jean, and Wilma, the newer screening was put to separate the pool from the patio. I paid extra for pet safe screening so that the dogs would not be able to rip the screen. The first time that I let Corky, Tory, Drew, and Tiffany out on the patio, it took a minute before Tiffany came back in the house bleeding profusely from her mouth. I assumed that she bit a lizard. No such luck. She had broken two teeth chasing after a lizard and trying to bite him while he was on the floor. They never went out on the patio again. That was over 8 years ago. The present occupants seem to be a bit smarter. I allow them to go on the patio and here have not been any incidents yo date.009
The door is open to the patio when the weather is cool enough.

19 thoughts on “Am I A Helicopter Mom?

  1. rubytheairedale

    Hey, that’s like Ma!! It makes getting ‘treasures’ more difficult…you have to be verrrrry sneeeeeaky….I got a rat poop and Ma took it right away! geesh. No fun that one…
    Glads you guys are gettin’ some freedom!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    Reply
  2. bentley2

    My Mom keeps me on a leash and she is always around close when I go outside. We have hawks that can do a lot of damage thinking I am a rabbit. So she stays close so no hawk tries to get me. Plus as a terrier she can not trust me to not get into trouble.
    Bentley

    Reply
  3. Skyler Braveheart

    Mama is always supervising me. I only go out of the house on leash. On walks, she tries to be one step ahead..she watches to see if I am sniffing, as opposed to scarfing up. I am allowed to be on the front porch and back deck, but only if she is working in one of those yards. Maybe she needs to go to Helicopters Annonomous.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      Are you a secret grass eater? Rocky does that and drives Michele crazy. Mine have to stop and sniff every blade of grass on a walk. It gets to be annoying after a while. You mom can become a charter member of HA.

      Reply
  4. Jacques' Dog Blog

    I’m right there with you – except instead of calling me a “helicopter mom,” my family says I’m neurotic. That’s fine. Whatever it takes to keep my four-legged babies safe.

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      I would gladly accept that title of neurotic. I have seen to many pets killed on my block by the speeders that think that 25 is a suggested speed limit. Their parents aren’t being diligent and their babies are being killed.

      Reply
  5. susieandsidebite

    No your not….just a Mom worried about her pups….we watch ours and check them over ever morning and then just before bed time….It’s called love!

    The Mad Scots

    Reply
    1. corkscot Post author

      Thanks for the feedback. Some of my neighbors think that I am crazy for watching closely. The dogs are living things that they deserve care and respect. If you can’t do it, get a stuffed animal and have no responsibility.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

